The first 6 weeks

My husband and I had a plan. To have a baby in the summer of 2011. September was our “green light” month – as in, it would be A-okay for me to give birth in June if everything happened during this first month. We both knew people who had tried for months before conceiving. We figured that with all other factors being equal, it would probably be a few months before we conceived, but we’d start trying.

Well, the first week of October rolled around and I didn’t get my period (and I’m an incredibly regular person when it comes to my cycle). We tested two days later and it came out negative (1 line). Three days after that (so five days after my missed period) I took another test and saw the faintest of faint second line. There wasn’t a huge moment of “oh my gosh” because we pretty much suspected at that point due to the lack of an actual period. Still, it was exciting to have confirmation and for the next few weeks we let ourselves dream and plan for the future. At work I started writing a more detailed guide to what I do during the summer months in anticipation of maternity leave. On the home front I carefully arranged a trip to visit my brother so that it would be early enough for there to be no worries about flying while pregnant.

During this time I had so many questions but no one to talk to except for my husband (since we had decided not to tell anyone until 8 weeks). I highly recommend Pregtastic for any expectant mothers out there – particularly during those first 12-16 weeks when you may not have told others yet but still have plenty of questions. I downloaded and listened to podcasts like mad. Several of my friends have participated in Pregtastic podcasts and it was wonderful to listen to their stories with a new perspective. Oh and let me tell you, the most surprising change for me – the fact that my boobs started growing – I sort of didn’t expect that to happen until later on in pregnancy, but apparently it happens right away.

My doctor had me come in at 7 weeks for an ultrasound and the start of a number of blood tests. At that appointment they determined I was about 6 weeks instead of the expected 7 weeks (which went along with not testing positive until later on). We went home with our ultrasound picture and instructions to come back in two weeks (for an 8 week appointment).

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

